April 21, 2014 | Posted in Chess Lectures | By

A Tribute to Smyslov

By the Masters of ChessLecture.com

Recommended for Intermediate- Advanced Players

Vasily Smyslov was a Soviet and Russian grandmaster, and was World Chess Champion from 1957 to 1958. He redefined chess post WW2. He was a candidate for the World Chess on eight occasions. Smyslov twice tied for first at the Soviet Championship (1949, 1955), and his total of 17 Chess Olympiad medals won is an all-time record. In five European Team Championships, Smyslov won ten gold medals. He is known for his fantastic endgames, very dynamic sense over the board and intuitive sense of harmony. Modern champions that follow his style are Carlsen and Kramnik. Here the masters of ChessLecture review his brilliance and style in a series of stunning games. Read more

• Grandmaster Jesse Kraai

• Grandmaster Eugene Perelshtyen

• FIDE Master Dennis Monokroussos

• International Master David Vigorito

Content: 1.7 hours in a series of 4 lectures.

Members of ChessLecture.com rated this series a 4.45 out of 5

Fans on Chesslecture.com said: Very nice lecture. You won’t want to miss this one!

Be the first to comment.

Leave a Reply